Still Doubt Me? Check This Out…

I know there are still those that doubt that I have a source in or close to someone in the MLB. While my source hasn’t been right about everything (nobody’s source is), he has been pretty spot on about quite a bit. Here’s a short summary of things that I have been right on.

Zach Greinke

This one was well before I made this blog:

(Posted on my Facebook)

My sources tell me Zach Greinke has gotten traded to the Milwaukee Brewers for Lorenzo Cain, shortstop Alcides Escobar and prospect pitchers Jake Odorizzi and Jeremy Jeffress.

While that one could be up for debate if I was the first to report, this next one isn’t.

Carlos Beltran

This one is regarding the Cardinals and Beltran at 2:32 pm central time on December 22nd:

(Again on Facebook)

Being told Beltran will sign with Cardinals for a 2 year deal. We should see soon if there is any truth to this.

MLB Trade Rumors said that Derrick Goold of the STL Post Dispatch was the first to report it. In reality, Goold’s first mention of it being a done deal was via Twitter at 6:45 p.m.

#Cardinals and Beltran have agreed upon a two-year deal, according to sources. News posted on Stltoday.com#stlcards

Ken Rosenthal and Tim Brown were “the first to report” the details of the deal at around 7:00 p.m. In reality, I mentioned it was a 2 year deal in my Facebook post.

Dale Sveum

I also had the scoop on the hiring of new Chicago Cubs manager Dale Sveum. At 9:58 p.m. on November 16th, I reported on this blog that the Chicago Cubs had hired Sveum.

My sources have confirmed that the Chicago Cubs have hired Dale Sveum as manager. Sveum has received a 3 year deal with an option. Sveum chose the Cubs over the Red Sox earlier today…

Jon Heyman was the “first to report” that the Cubs even offered the job to Sveum at 10:07 p.m. The following day at 11:44 a.m., Joel Sherman finally reported that Sveum had accepted the Cubs offer. The first quote is from Heyman while the second is from Sherman:

Heyman: Cubs offer sveunm (sp) job

Sherman (the next day): Just minor delays, but Sveum is going to be #Cubs mgr.

Matt Garza

On New Years Eve, I posted my Garza Rumors article. In it I mention names that the Tigers and Yankees are throwing around. I also go on to mention that the Cubs do not really believe that the Red Sox have what it takes to make a deal for Garza. On New Years Day, Heyman essentially echos much of what I wrote in my article the day before:

The teams involved the derby for the 28-year-old Cubs righthander at this point are the YankeesBlue JaysTigers,Red Sox and Marlins. With the Cubs seeking young pitchers, it would seem that the Yankees, Blue Jays and Tigers could hold an edge ultimately. The Yankees have Manny Banuelos and Dellin Betances, the Tigers Jacob Turnerand the Blue Jays several well-regarded prospects at the lower levels. The Cubs are hoping to improve their young pitching stock, and Garza is the most marketable player they’re willing to deal.

The Red Sox earlier named Garza, who went 10-10 with a 3.31 ERA in 2011, his only one with the Cubs, as a target in Theo Epstein compensation talks, but it’s unclear wether the Cubs would even consider trying to solve the compensation issue while making a bigger Garza deal with Boston. They wouldn’t surrender Garza straight-up for Epstein, and it’s possible the Cubs would want to keep Garza and the compensation issues totally separate. The Red Sox don’t have pitching prospects to match the Yankees or Blue Jays but do have hard-throwing righthander Anthony Ranaudo, who was drafted by Epstein, the new Cubs president.

Buster Olney also weighed in with similar comments as mine via Cubs MLB beat writer Carrie Muskat:

It’s a new year, which means more rumors regarding the Cubs and teams interested in acquiring Matt Garza. The Tigers are apparently the latest to show interest in the right-hander, and are willing to deal Jacob Turner, according to ESPN.com’s Buster Olney. Turner, 20, made 17 starts at Double-A Erie last season, posting a 3.48 ERA with 7.1 strikeouts per nine innings and 2.5 walks per nine innings. The Cubs are listening to a number of teams but Olney says no deal is imminent. The Marlins, Yankees, Red Sox and Blue Jays also have reportedly been in touch with the Cubs about Garza, but Theo & Co would have to be overwhelmed with a package of top prospects to part with the right-hander.

There is a very good chance that none of what I just said convinces you that I am reliable source. That is completely understandable. Regardless, I will keep posting any tid bits of information that comes my way. I WILL be wrong a good bit. However, you will also notice that I am right a decent amount of the time.

I write about a wide array of baseball topics on here. A lot of it will be my opinion so I will try my best to make sure you realize that. To help you differentiate when I’m writing about something that I was told by a source, I will write a variation of “My sources say/are telling me/have confirmed.”

I hope I convinced you that I’m not a blogger who just makes things up. I wouldn’t say it if I didn’t have a source telling me it is true. It is simple as that.

If I haven’t convince you yet, well, just stayed tuned.

I will.

Join in on the Discussion

  • Join 3 other followers

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Blog Stats

    • 1,423 hits
